Char Dham

Uttarakhand, also known as Devbhoomi or the Land of Gods, is home to a diversity of temples and welcomes pilgrims all year. The Char Dham Yatra is one of the most well-known holy locations and circuits visited by pilgrims in Uttarakhand. This Yatra, or pilgrimage, takes you to four holy locations in the Himalayas: Yamunotri, Gangotri, Kedarnath, and Badrinath. ‘Char’ means four in Hindi, while ‘Dham’ defines holy places.

Every year, the high-altitude shrines are closed for about six months, opening in the spring (April or May) and closing with the arrival of winter (October or November). It is recommended that the Char Dham Yatra be completed in a clockwise direction. As a result, the pilgrimage begins in Yamunotri, continues to Gangotri, then to Kedarnath, and finally to Badrinath. It is possible to accomplish the voyage by road or by air (helicopter services are available). Some devotees even go on a pilgrimage to Kedarnath and Badrinath, known as the Do Dham Yatra.

The Yamunotri temple in Uttarkashi district is dedicated to Goddess Yamuna and is located in a narrow canyon near the source of the River Yamuna (India’s second-most sacred river after the Ganga). Gangotri, devoted to Goddess Ganga, the most sacred of all Indian rivers, is located in Uttarkashi’s district. Kedarnath, dedicated to Lord Shiva, is located in the Rudraprayag district. Lord Vishnu is honoured in Badrinath, which is home to the famous Badrinarayan Temple. The Char Dham Yatra is both divine and difficult, but it delights the soul!

Day 1 : Arrival Haridwar- Barkot

After breakfast proceeds to Barkot via Dehradun & Mussoorie. En-route visit Kempty fall. Upon arrival check-in into the hotel, the rest of the day is at leisure. Dinner and overnight stay at the hotel at Barkot.

Day 2: Barkot-Yamunotri- Barkot

Morning leave for Janki Chatti via Hanuman Chatti & Fool Chatti. On arrival Janki Chatti start Trek of 06 kms for Yamunotri, On Arrive Yamunotri Holi Dip in Garam Kund, than Pooja and Darshan of Shree Yamunotri Ji, after Darshan and Pooja, afternoon start trek back to Janki Chatti on arrival Janki Chatti meet with driver and drive back to Barkot. Overnight stay at Hotel

Day 03: Uttarkashi-Gangotri – Harsil-Uttarkashi round trip

With a packed breakfast & post Tea/ Coffee leave for Gangotri early in the morning. Offering prayers & pooja darshan, later drive back to Uttarkashi, en route visit Gangnani & Harsil. Overnight stay at Uttarkashi

Day 04: Uttarkashi – Guptkashi-Sitapur

Leave very early in the morning with packed breakfast for almost day long drive to Sitapur via Guptkashi. On your drive you would pass through Ganga giving way to Tehri Dam (The Hydro Electric Project). Overnight stay in the hotel at Sitapur/Guptkashi.

Day 05: Sitapur-Gaurikund - Kedarnath & back

Morning drive to Sonprayag -Gaurikund (03 km drive-one way). On arrival, Gaurikund starts your journey on the tough trek ahead. On arrival Kedarnath freshened up, performing Pooja and also Darshan at Shri Kedarnathji & back to Sitapur. Amidst the dramatic mountainscapes of the majestic Kedarnath range stands one of the twelve ‘Jyotirlingas’ of Kedar or Lord Shiva. Lying at an altitude of 3584 mts.

Day 06: Sitapur to Joshimath

Early Morning breakfast drive to after it processed to Joshimath.

day 07: joshimath - Badrinath

Morning after breakfast proceed to Badrinath via Joshimath, (Narsimha Temple, Sankaracharaya Math) Badrinath. Evening Darshan & Pooja at Badrinath temple. Overnight stay at Badrinath

Day 08: Badrinath – Pipalkoti - Rudraprayag

Early morning, pilgrims after having a bath in the Taptkund have the Darshan of Badrivishal. Brahamakapal is significant for Pinddan Shraddh of ancestors (Pitrus). Late morning after breakfast drive to Rudraprayag enroute visiting Vishnuprayag, Karnprayag, Nandprayag overnight stay at Rudraprayag. We can also visit to evening Aarti at Maharudranath Temple. If time permits we can also visit Koteshwar Mahadev. O/N stay in Rudraprayag.

Day 09: Rudarparyag-Haridwar

After breakfast drive to Haridwar en-route visit Deoprayag , Rishikesh (Ram Jhula & Laxman Jhula, Gita Mandir).After sightseeing proceed to Haridwar and drop to the railway station according to schedule.